Posted by: wegottobefree | November 20, 2009

Taking a stand…well…not literally.

For the past two weeks I haven’t been standing up for the pledge of allegiance every morning. I made the decision for several reasons:

1. There is certainly not ‘liberty and justice for all’ in this country. Just look at gay rights. I can’t believe we even still have to protest equal rights in the 21st century. It’s absolutely beyond me.

2. The whole ‘Under God’ thing…I don’t like them forcing that on me at all. That sort of stuff shouldn’t be in the classroom of a public school. It’s on the edge of prayer.

3. Kids don’t actually stand for the pledge because they believe in it. They do it because it’s what they’ve been told to do since age 5. It reminds me of Nazi Germany, the way children had to pledge to Hitler every morning. Everyone’s just robots…and I do not want to be a robot to America, to any country, or to anything, for that matter.

Of course, people take unkindly to what they see as unpatriotic, especially when it’s a kid whose supposedly breaking the rules. I’m sure there’s several adults who look at me and think I’m just some stupid kid trying to get attention by acting out…but it’s so far from the truth. The truth is I have strong beliefs and I want to do what I feel is right, whether it is accepted by society or not. Just because everyone does something doesn’t make it right, and vice versa.

My teacher didn’t even notice for three days. On the third day he came up to me and asked “What was that…A protest against America?” and I said yes. He was a bit shocked and taken aback and said “Oh..tell me more later.” This morning before class ended he came up to me again and asked me why I’m not standing. I gave my reasons and he agreed with me on them and told me it’s the “boldest act of defiance” he’s ever seen.

But then he went on to ask “Is this legal?” and proceeded to tell me he’s worried about what’s going to happen to HIM if he doesn’t order me to stand. He doesn’t want to make me do anything, but he also wants to save his ass and not get in trouble by higher authority if another teacher happens to see what’s going on. This angered me that he’s so scared. I lost a lot of respect for him after he said that. And no, I won’t stand up to save him from getting in trouble. I’m not going to compromise my beliefs for anyone, even if he is my favorite teacher.

Most of the people in my class don’t even notice that I don’t stand…shows you just how robotic they really are. It really upsets me. I want to just yell at them all to WAKE UP and start thinking for yourselves for once!

It gets me really upset knowing how scared people are of their reputations, and how quick they are to submit to the ‘norm’, regardless if they even agree with it or not. People are so willing to just keep their heads down and keep quiet about everything…and this is why nothing ever changes.

If people demanded peace instead of another television set, then there’d be peace.

Leave a Reply

Categories

