Posted by: wegottobefree | April 19, 2009

‘The Who’ reference on an old cartoon!

CatDog was an American animated television series which was first broadcast on October 4th, 1998 with the last show airing on July 24th, 2004. The series was created for Nickelodeon and created by Peter Hannan. The series depicts the life of conjoined un-identical brothers with one half being a Cat while the other a Dog. Yeah, it was fucked up. Then again, so were all of my generation’s cartoons. (Angry Beavers, Rocko’s Modern Life, Spongebob Squarepants, and let’s not forget Ren and Stimpy.)

They had one episode where they put on a musical about Abe Lincoln. I was about seven or eight when I first saw it, and believe it or not I was already a Wholigan by that age, and caught the reference. It always stayed in my mind, because I thought it was so cool that a stupid kid’s show would weave The Who into one of their episodes. It was pretty obscure, since I don’t know anyone else who ever caught it or remembers it, not even online.

I tried pirating the show as a torrent, but it turns out such a torrent doesn’t exist. So yesterday, and I don’t know why, the memory of the Tommy reference on Catdog popped into my head, and I knew what I had to do. I bought the episode. It was two dollars.

And here it is, ladies and gentlemen:

catdog


Responses

  1. hahahaaaa

    • It’s great, right? I don’t think any other seven year old caught this but me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

