Posted by: wegottobefree | March 20, 2009

Without music life would be a mistake.

I can honestly say that I would rather be blind than deaf. I cannot imagine life without music, I honestly do not know what I would do. There is not a moment in my life where music is not playing in my head. There is constantly some form of music running through my mind at any point of the day for me, wether it be as complicated as Emerson, Lake and Palmer’s ‘Pirates’, complete with full orchestra, or if it be just Keith Moon playing the drums to The Who’s Tommy’s ‘Christmas’. (Gotta love the symbols in that song ❤ )

Since I was in elementary school I have been told to stop humming during class. Just today, a girl looked heard me humming during lunch, and she asked, “Is that you?”

I get kind of restless and irritable when someone plays music that I don’t like, because I can’t listen to the music that was in my head over the bad music that is playing outside of my head. It frustrates me and I almost get this feeling of nervousness, as if I am enduring ‘music withdrawal’.  In my Drawing and Painting class the teacher will occasionally do this, playing some mediocre punk music and calling it ‘Inspiration’. Ironically, these days I can barely do any work, and instead drum on the tables and mess with the girl that sits in front of me. We call her Luna Lovegood (From Harry Potter, if you really haven’t read it.) because of her high voice, spacey look, and odd remarks and quirks. Example:  She asked me totally seriously one day, “Wouldn’t it be weird if everyone in the entire world, even girls, had big curly mustaches?” I responded, “Well, if everyone had them, then it wouldn’t be weird to anyone.” She also likes to break out into dance, and not just any dance, she does the Charlie Brown dance, you know the one:

(The one in the orange shirt)

Speaking of Drawing and Painting, in that class Mrs. Lunden is often at a meeting so we have lots of subs. Well, last weekend I saw our most regular substitute at a party I was at. It’s an odd feeling seeing a teacher amidst all of your friends. Keep in mind, I may be fifteen, but all of my friends are at least eighteen, and there were a lot of older people there too, probably up to like twenty-six years old, so she wasn’t out of place, it’s more me that doesn’t belong there. But fuck it, people my age suck, what can I say?

I seriously got off track there. Oh well. But yeah, back to the whole music thing, I’ve always been in love with music. Listening to it, singing it, playing instruments, or even, like I mentioned, creating it in my head. Without music I would be completely lost. I wouldn’t know what to do with myself.

I’ve always been an audio oriented person. When I read, there is a constant voice in my head narrating whatever I am reading. It is IMPOSSIBLE for me to turn this voice off, I have tried and it cannot be done. It’s hard for me to even imagine how people can read without hearing it, I didn’t even realize the majority of the population don’t narrate inside of their head until sometime last year.

I see in Myspace and Facebook About Me’s, people often write ‘music is my life’, but I don’t think they really and honestly mean it. For me, music just effects me in a way that nothing else can. It’s better than any drug. It brings people together. It makes cold nights warmer, and lonely days happier. It calms be down and lifts me up.

A 2001 experiment at McGill College used brain scans to study the neural mechanics of the goosebumps that great music can sometimes induce. They found that the brain structures activated are the same regions linked to other euphoric stimuli, such as food, sex and drugs.

Blood flow in the brain rises and falls to swells of music in areas associated with reward, emotion and arousal.

As stimulation for food and sex are important for a organism’s survival, the fact that similar neural activity is observed in responses to features in music suggests that there could be some evolutionary advantage to the ability to hear—or hum—a good tune.

Even if it is relaxing to listen to, the listener has to recreate its meaning, the feelings it expresses. It is the listener who gives life to the emotions in music. Listening to your favorite hits can shift your breathing pattern and speed up your heart rate. (That’s probably why I have high blood pressure, I listen to Moon’s drumming way too much! Haha.)
Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life. A painter paints pictures on canvas.  But musicians paint their pictures on silence. Music is my refuge.  I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness. I have my own particular sorrows, loves, delights; and you have yours.  But sorrow, gladness, yearning, hope, love, belong to all of us, in all times and in all places.  Music is the only means whereby we feel these emotions in their universality.
Music cleanses the understanding; inspires it, and lifts it into a realm which it would not reach if it were left to itself.

Without music life would be a mistake.

Responses

  1. I agree with you about the music. Music makes my world go ’round and I would not be able to survive without it!

    Also, I want to meet this Luna Lovegood, Charlie Brown dancing, girl!


Leave a Reply

Categories

