Posted by: wegottobefree | February 26, 2009

Perceptions

It’s funny how one’s perception or view of someone or thing can change in a split second. You could hate something all your life until something changes your view on it and you fall in love with it. Or, on the other hand, you could love something, and then suddenly hate it.

There is an Italian exchange student in my study hall. Everyone likes him and all of the girls are very attracted to him. He is, I admit, very good looking. A little on the short side, but very muscular with long hair that curls. Plus that Italian accent is quite nice. He seemed polite and nice and I always kind of wished he would talk to me because I was too intimidated by him to spark a conversation. One time he did come up to me, to look at the sketch of a whale at sea I was working on, said “That’s nice,” and walked out of the room, but besides that, we never spoke.  He seemed like a cool kid, especially because he was from Italy and I love conversing about other cultures and places around the world.

But today I lost all respect for him. In our study hall, you have to sign yourself out on a sheet of paper on a desk in the front of the room if you want to leave to go somewhere. A small Asian boy is in our class, and he clearly has down syndrome or some other mental retardation. He is quiet and polite and very nice, never bothers anyone. Today he was signing himself out, when Mr. Italian (Or Italian Kid, as most people call him who don’t know his name) came up behind him and pointed at him, looking to me and this other girl, and pretended to punch him, shaking his head like this boy didn’t have a right to make him wait in line. Immediately, I lost all desire to be his friend, to even look at him, ever again. That one pompous action ended my want to have anything to do with him. I can’t believe how insensitive and heartless people can be.

It’s all okay, though, because the very same period a boy came into the class to talk to the teacher about math. “I turn nineteen tomorrow,” he said to her. “Why nineteen, what happened?” She asked, since most graduate at eighteen. “In Poland they start school a year later than in America.”

Also, this one is tall.

Leave a Reply

Categories

